knitting is never a waste of time

~quote of the day~

“Sometimes, people come up to me when I am knitting and they say things like, “Oh, I wish I could knit, but I’m just not the kind of person who can sit and waste time like that.” How can knitting be wasting time? First, I never just knit; I knit and think, knit and listen, knit and watch. Second, you aren’t wasting time if you get a useful or beautiful object at the end of it.

I will remember that not everyone understands. I will resist the urge to ask others what they do when they watch TV.
Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, At Knit’s End: Meditations for Women Who Knit Too Much


I love this quote!  I just recently happened upon Stephanie Pearl-McPhee’s blog, Yarn Harlot, and it is full of great knitting adventures.  Her blog is fun to read and I think she is a pretty clever writer.  Her blog archives back to 2004 which is awesome!  I kind of want to read the entire thing from the beginning.  She is an author of many knitting books to boot!  I found her profile on Goodreads and I’ve marked a few of her books as “to read”!   Has anyone else read any of her books?

Leave a Reply

