DIY & Crafty!, Knitting / Crochet

Christmas Balls!

I know, Christmas is long over.  But I found a knitting pattern for a Christmas Ball ornament and it is literally all I can think about.

You know how sometimes you search the internet for something particular and then you accidentally stumble onto something not related at all but really cool anyway?  That is exactly how I found Arne & Carlos and their incredibly awesome knitted Christmas Balls.  I was searching for tutorials on fair isle knitting techniques and ended up watching an Arne & Carlos video and I was instantly hooked!  I have watched almost all of their knitting and crochet videos on YouTube!  I have also learned a new way to purl – the Norwegian way!  I am a Continental knitter so switching to Norwegian knitting was surprisingly easy!

I have been so inspired by these two that I purchased two of their books on Amazon and I can’t wait to knit some of the patterns.  The first book is called Norwegian Knits with Twist.  This book has patterns for mittens, hats, wrist warmer, stuffed toys, sweaters and more!  Plus there is some info about the history of lice (sedestal) sweaters which I find pretty fascinating.  The photos are really pretty in this book and I’m excited to try a few patterns.

The second book that I purchased is called 55 Christmas Balls to Knit: Colorful Festive Ornaments, Tree Decorations, Centerpieces, Wreaths, Window Dressings.  This book is so neat!  There is one basic knitted ball pattern to follow and then 55 different designs that you can do.  AND you can design your own Christmas ball!  WHAT?!  They give you a template in the back of the book to use to create your own.  For some reason, I felt like these projects looked so easy to do…..until I cast on stitches.

xmas-ball-book

I have attempted to knit the plain ball pattern 4 or 5 times now and have gotten stuck on the 4th or 5th round every time.  And every time, I have ripped out and started again.  It is actually very difficult to get things started.  Full disclosure: I have never knit with double pointed needles before this project so it has truly been a challenge!  I will not let this ball get the best of me though.  I will keep trying until I figure out how to hold the needles and knit those tiny stitches.  I’ll post some progress soon!  Wish me luck!!

2 thoughts on “Christmas Balls!”

Leave a Reply

