too much acrylic yarn

The Daily Post Theme: Yarn


I can’t exactly pass up the Daily Post Theme about YARN, now can I?

I have been pretty busy with a few knitting projects.  I have finished the Pirate Cove Shawl and I’m pretty pleased with it overall.  I have not taken a full photo of the finished project yet, but I will soon.  Here is a snip-it of the shawl in my lap while I sat in my Biergarten to knit one warm evening.

And if we zoom out a bit, you can see that I’m watching carefully over my tiny sweet baby while she sleeps and I’m enjoying a beer at the same time.  If this isn’t multi-tasking, I don’t know what is.  

I don’t know what possessed me to do it, but about two months ago I bought a giant bundle of acrylic yarn in every shade of the rainbow.  These aren’t small skeins either.  Each one is super sized and labeled either “Big Twist” or “Super Saver”.  I’m overwhelmed with acrylic yarn and I’m starting to feel a bit of buyer’s remorse.  Acrylic yarn is a man-made synthetic fiber made from petroleum based products and although it has its benefits (cheap, lightweight, tons of colors, and easy to clean), it is not my first choice for yarn.  So why did I buy so much of it?!  Maybe because it was so darn cheap?  I’m not sure I remember now why I bought it, which is kind of a shame.

So what the heck am I going to do with all of this acrylic yarn?  The flammability of acrylic scares me with the wee one so baby clothes are not an option for me.  That also means that knitting anything wearable might not be a good choice either.  I did use acrylic to knit the Pirate Cove Shawl pictured above but I guess if it is for me, I’ll take the risk and stay away from open flames!  Ha!  But as gifts for others, I’m not so sure.  I have found that washcloths are best knit in 100% cotton so that choice is out, too.  A few possible project options are: blankets, pillows, or toys.

A blanket wouldn’t be a bad idea since I have a ton of yarn to use up and it might be kind of fun to practice a blanket.  Maybe it would be better to crochet a blanket rather than knit.  Crochet is so much faster anyway.  I maybe think it’s time to get serious about the Roseann Afghan!

What are your go-to projects for acrylic yarn?  What should I do with this yarn stash?

Happy Knitting!

3 thoughts on “too much acrylic yarn

  1. We love knitting! Why dint you knit different coloured squares and then sew them together to make a multi coloured blanket! 😃🐻

    Like

Leave a Reply

