A Finished Project = A New Project!

Doesn’t it feel great when you finally finish a big project?  I’m always so excited when I finished a knitting pattern because that means those knitting needles can be used for another project!  I love how that works.  I’ve completed two really big knitting projects lately, both were challenging, but only one made me happy.  I finished the Frango Sampler Scarf over the weekend and I have to admit, I just didn’t love it.  I complained a little bit about it in a previous post.

I strive to always learn new knitting techniques and the Frango scarf allowed me to practice two new ones including the provisional cast on and the three needle bind off.  Surprisingly, both techniques are easy to do, even for a beginner-ish knitter like myself.  I knit to the half way mark on the scarf pattern and then used the three needle bind off to create a perfectly seamed edge to close up a tube scarf.  It looks really, really nice and lays super flat.  I learned these techniques by watching the video tutorial by Very Pink that accompanies the free Frango Sampler Scarf pattern.

I’m not really all that upset that I didn’t finish the scarf.  In fact, practicing the techniques have given me a little more knitting confidence.  I plan to design my own “tube scarf” and I have a few ideas that I’d like to sketch out on paper and see if my ideas will work.  I’m already thinking about Christmas gifts and should probably start now!  A good lesson learned for me is to not let myself get so far into a project (like half way through!) before making the decision to stop because it’s not worth continuing.  Have you ever stopped working on a project and never finished it?

A finished project means a new project, right?!  Next up is a little knitted poncho for my sweet baby girl!  I was inspired by a free poncho knitting pattern that I saw once (for the life of me I can’t recall where I saw it on the internets) but it is basically a long rectangle with the end seamed to one of the sides.  It sounds odd but makes good sense.  I have a stash of yarn to blow through and happened to have some super soft baby yarn in sort of a multi-twisted white and gray color.  It’s pretty and soft and I need to use it.  So on the needles it went.  I’ll keep notes on this pattern as I go and share when I’m finished.

Oh, and I definitely drank that Pabst Blue Ribbon right there in the picture while I started my next project.

Happy Knitting!!

Leave a Reply

