Knitting / Crochet

the knitting guild association / master knitter

Admittedly, I am a new-ish knitter, but I consider myself a little more than a beginner.  I learned to knit many (many) years ago and dabbled from time to time, collecting supplies here and there.  I picked up knitting again this past Christmas in order to crank out some gifts for family and friends.  I found it to be so much fun that I haven’t been able to put it down since.  So really, I have only been knitting consistently for about seven months.  Somehow I managed in this short seven month period to fall straight down the knitting rabbit hole.   I must have bumped my head along the way because I’m slightly obsessed and totally disoriented!

At an accelerated rate, I have downloaded every free Ravelry pattern for “beginner”, bought needles of all lengths /sizes / finishes, stock piled yarn, poured over knitting YouTube videos, followed inspirational knitters on Instragram, and dreamed of having a new knitting career alllllll while still learning to knit the basics.  I honestly have laugh at my own naivety here!

Truth be told, I do want to learn more and I want to become a better knitter.  As I was researching the many ways to accomplish some of my knitting goals, I happened to find The Knitting Guild Association (TKGA).  The purpose of the guild, in case you don’t already know, is to assist knitters with enhancing their knitting skills, while keeping the knitting craft in high standards.  I think I read every page of this website in my eagerness to learn as much as possible.  There is a whole host of educational classes that you can take to assist you in learning the basics.  Once you’ve covered the basics, you can move on to the Master Hand Knitter’s Certification where you will clearly take your knitting to the next level.  If you have a few minutes, check out the requirements to become a Master Knitter!  It’s about as intense as the Beer Judge Certification Program where you have to pass a timed 200 question test and judge a sample of 6 beers in order to pass the first level.  No joke!

I’ve read some mixed reviews about the Master Knitter certification – both positive and negative.  The TKGA website provides a list of the certification recipients for each year and I’m surprise that there aren’t more knitters receiving the certification.   It looks like there is a TKGA Group on Ravelry so I can see that people are interested.   Out of curiosity – is the certification so intense and time consuming that not many people do it?   Has anyone completed Level 1?  What was your experience?

Happy Knitting!

Leave a Reply

