a fine time for change

“The only way that we can live, is if we grow. The only way that we can grow is if we change. The only way that we can change is if we learn. The only way we can learn is if we are exposed. And the only way that we can become exposed is if we throw ourselves out into the open. Do it. Throw yourself.”
― C. JoyBell C.


Last week I received an email (it was an “e-newsletter” actually) from the University where I work and at the very bottom was an article that caught my eye.  You know how sometimes you look at something quickly and see something completely different than what is actually there?  Well I read the title of the article incorrectly in my mind and clicked on the link to visit the website to read more about the topic.  For some reason, I thought the article was about new buildings on campus.  The link took me the the School of Law at my University.  Turns out the article was really about a new Masters degree program for Government Contracting and Procurement Law.  This may not sound very exciting, but this program is a perfect fit for me.  I currently manage subcontracts under federal and non-federal awards.  Yes – I need this Master’s degree!

As a benefit of a full-time University employee, I receive free tuition remission for myself, my spouse, and my dependents.  I already have a bachelor’s degree from this University and have thought about getting my Master’s degree for many years but none of the Master’s programs sound even remotely interesting to me.  I’m a little baffled at how this opportunity landed in my email inbox.  Honestly, I almost deleted the email but decided to scroll to the bottom anyway just to see what the issue was about.  Lucky for me that I did!

I thought about the program for approximately 2 minutes and decided right then, that I must apply.  And so I did.  My husband just graduated with a second bachelor’s degree and now I guess it is my turn to go back to school!  Sometimes things just pop up in ways that you least expect.  Maybe you have to take risks and push yourself a little.  Throw yourself rather, as the quote above says.

Classes start in about a month – let’s hope my application is accepted!  Wish me luck.

One thought on “a fine time for change

Leave a Reply

